July 20, 2024
Chicago 12, Melborne City, USA

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 4

Lok Sabha

The ongoing Lok Sabha elections in Srinagar mark a significant milestone in the region’s political landscape, being the first major electoral event since the repeal of Article 370, which previously granted special status to Jammu and Kashmir. With 24 candidates vying for the Srinagar Lok Sabha seat, encompassing districts like Srinagar, Ganderbal, Pulwama, Budgam, and Shopian, the constituency boasts a sizable electorate of 17.48 lakh voters. Commencing at 7 am, the voting process forms part of the fourth phase of the nationwide seven-phase elections, featuring over 1,700 candidates across 96 constituencies.

Following the reorganization of Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories, Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh, the electoral dynamics have shifted, with Ladakh no longer having a separate Lok Sabha constituency. Notably, the National Conference and the People’s Democratic Party emerge as prominent contenders in the Srinagar constituency. Aga Ruhullah Mehdi, a respected Shia leader and former minister, represents the National Conference, while the PDP has nominated its youth president, Waheed Para.

Security measures have been heightened by the Election Commission at polling stations in Srinagar, emphasizing the importance of ensuring a peaceful and fair electoral process. Additionally, special provisions have been made for migrant voters from the Kashmir Division, with 26 dedicated polling stations established across Jammu, Delhi, and Udhampur District.

Amidst the electoral fervor, concerns have been raised by People’s Democratic Party chief Mehbooba Mufti regarding alleged harassment and illegal detention of party workers. In a letter addressed to the Election Commission, Mufti highlights these issues, underscoring the need for a transparent and inclusive electoral environment.

Follow for more.

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video